AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.
Minutes of the June 1, 2013 State Board Meeting
Chellis House, Middlebury College, Middlebury, Vermont

Present: Jenifer Ambler, Mary Feidner, Margaret Galgano, Gudrun Hutchins, Louise Luring, Julie Mackaman; previous board member Jennifer Kern

Call to Order and President’s Report
President Galgano called the meeting to order at 10:05 am. She held up an American flag that was sent by AAUW president Linda Hallman to AAUW Vermont, one of 130 flags flown over the U.S. Capital on January 14, 2012 in honor of the 130th anniversary of the first meeting of the organization that would become AAUW. Galgano then passed around a letter and certificate from Hallman congratulating AAUW Vermont for achieving tenth place among the top ten state per capita fundraisers for the Eleanor Roosevelt Fund.

Approval of Minutes of November 3, 2012
Feidner moved, Luring seconded that the minutes of the November 3, 2012 board meeting be approved; motion carried.

Future Status of AAUW Vermont
The board resumed the discussion of the November meeting regarding the ongoing leadership challenges of filling empty positions on the board and recruiting the next state president, at the same time that Vermont’s branches have vacancies in their own officer slates. Four options presented in that meeting were revisited: 1). find a way to reinvigorate AAUW Vermont to restore its health and viability; 2). continue AAUW Vermont as currently structured, despite open positions and no leadership succession plan; 3). become inactive; or 4). disband.

With little interest expressed in the other three options, the board focused on developing a proposal for deactivating AAUW Vermont, with the option of reactivating or disbanding it at a future date, and authorized Hutchins to research the logistics and legal implications of this option with the now inactive AAUW New Hampshire and with national AAUW. As part of the proposal, Hutchins, Mackaman, and Ambler agreed to continue as a three-member steering committee in the positions of administrative coordinator, secretary, and treasurer respectively, in compliance with IRS directives, with terms to expire on June 30, 2016. The proposal specifies that the steering committee would carry out routine operations, but future decisions regarding AAUW Vermont policies and programs would be made collectively by the branch presidents. It further specifies that state dues sent by branches for 2013-14 would be refunded to the branches upon AAUW Vermont’s deactivation.

Branch presidents will be given the opportunity to present and discuss the proposal with their members during Fall 2013, and the current full board will either approve or reject it formally by November 1, 2013. If approved, the deactivation process will begin immediately and be completed as soon as possible but no later than June 30, 2014. Luring moved, Feidner seconded that the proposal, attached to these minutes, be approved; motion carried.

Treasurer’s Report
Treasurer Ambler reported that the financial assets total $4,130 (including approximately $200 in state dues collected from the Brattleboro Branch for 2013-14), with $340 in the checking account and $3,790 in a Certificate of Deposit. Ambler said she intends to transfer about $1,000 from the CD when it matures in September 2013 to ensure availability of funds for the website and any other expenses related to operations as AAUW of Vermont considers going inactive.

Recognizing that if the proposal to change the status of AAUW Vermont to “inactive” is unanimously approved by the branches by November 1, 2013, this may be the last board meeting for the foreseeable future, Galgano adjourned the meeting at 12:05 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Julie Mackaman, Secretary

Attachment: Proposal for an Inactive AAUW of Vermont Draft

Click here for Proposal which is posted as a separate document

Distribution List
Margaret Galgano, President
Jennifer Kern, previous past Membership (2011-12)
Jenifer Ambler, Treasurer
Louise Luring, Public Policy and AAUW Liaison, Vermont Commission on Women
Gudrun Hutchins, Communications
Mary Feidner, AAUW Funds
Andrea Weisberg, Special Projects
Julie Mackaman, President, Bennington Branch
Mary Hawkes, President, Brattleboro Branch
Patricia Allen Morgan, Co-President, Burlington Branch
Barbara Stearns, Co-President, Burlington Branch
Donna Lea Blaise, Co-President, Middlebury Branch
Lonnie Fisher, Co-President, Middlebury Branch

return to minutes page